Mesmerizing World of Foley

ondersamet
2 min readApr 1, 2022

This week we learned a lot about sound design in our lecture and I totally shocked because I was guessing sound designers are creating only the obvious sound effects such as fighting or car crashes but the truth is totally different. Even the footsteps and rain effects are created by sound designers. I was thinking they are recording some rain when raining and they are synchronizing that sound with the visuals or they just recording with sound while taking shots but in reality, they are pouring some water and editing the sound according to how they want.

Who can guess a cup and a string can create a projectile beam effect? Actually, I was thinking it was a computer-created sound. But the real shock for me was the foley effects of the ratatouille scene.

The creativity of foley artists is really mesmerizing. When looking at some irrelevant object with your project and thinking like I can use it for my project is basically art for me. Creating connections between irrelevant things and creating meaning is my art definition and foley artists are doing this very very well.

In contrast with these thoughts, I never want to be a professional foley artist. What they are doing is awesome but I am not interested because I never had a musical ear and sound design is my weak point. Foley aside, I am terrible in every sound element. I am admiring the sound designers but I know I will never be successful at any point of sound creation. I accepted this bluntly a long time ago and I didn’t do anything since that time about sound design. This week we have to create sound effects for a silent movie and it will be really hard for me.

Photo by Martin Péchy on Unsplash

So, wish me luck.

--

--